Who's on the ballot in your area?

-A A +A


On Tuesday, voters in the Twin Counties will choose leaders for local and state offices.
Grayson has a six-way race for county treasurer and in Carroll, a local candidate is seeking a Virginia House of Delegates seat. Both counties have several contested races for supervisors and school board members.
Voters in all localities will choose a governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general, along with other state representatives.
Polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday.
For more information on polling places, contact the voter registrar’s office in your locality.
Here are the candidates appearing on local ballots for the Nov. 5 election:

All Localities
• Governor — Terry R. McAuliffe (D), Ken T. Cuccinelli II (R), Robert C. Sarvis (L)

• Lieutenant Governor — Ralph S. Northam (D), E.W. Jackson (R)

• Attorney General  — Mark R. Herring (D), Mark D. Obenshain (R)

Grayson County
• House of Delegates 5th District  — Israel D. O’Quinn (R)

• Treasurer — Robert Kelly Haga (D), Paula D. Carrico (R), Stephanie H. Brewer (I), Raymond L. Hall, Jr. (I), George R. Whitaker (I), Gary R. Wilson (I)

• Board of Supervisors Elk Creek District — Brenda R. Sutherland (D)
(Though his name will not appear on the ballot, Tracy “Zeke” Anderson (I) has announced a write-in campaign.)

• Board of Supervisors Wilson District  —  Katherine B. “Kate” Irwin (D), Glen Eddie Rosenbaum (R),  K. Arnold Peters (I)

• School Board Elk Creek District — Misty A. Cox Cassell (I), Fred W. Weatherman (I)

• School Board Wilson District — J. Shannon Holdaway (I), Brian S. Walls (I)

Carroll County
• House of Delegates 6th District — Jonathan Lee McGrady (D), Jeffrey L. Campbell (R), Barbara T. Hall (I)

• Board of Supervisors Fancy Gap District  — Phil D. McCraw (R)

• Board of Supervisors Laurel Fork District  — Joshua A. Hendrick    (R)

• Board of Supervisors Pipers Gap District  —Thomas W. “Tom” Littrell (R), Robert L. “Robbie” McCraw (I)

• School Board Fancy Gap District — Phillip W. Berrier (I), Joey D. Haynes (I)

• School Board Laurel Fork District — Sanford G. “Sandy” Hendrick (I)

• School Board Pipers Gap District — Brian E. Spencer (I)

City of Galax
• House of Delegates 5th District — Israel D. O’Quinn (R)

• Commissioner of Revenue — David C. Hankley (I)

Watch www.galaxgazette.com on Tuesday for local election results, starting after polls close close at 7 p.m. and updated regularly throughout the night. Or, pick up Friday's edition of The Gazette for full election coverage.