What's on the ballot for May 1 election?

-A A +A

Staff Reports

Council elections will be held Tuesday to fill seats in the towns of Hillsville, Independence, Fries and Troutdale and the City of Galax. Those elected will begin their new terms July 1. Polls will be open May 1 from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.


Five people are seeking four positions on Galax City Council. Two newcomers, Travis Haynes and Sharon Ritchie, are seeking seats on council; along with three incumbents: C.M. Mitchell, Willie Greene and John Garner. The four candidates receiving the most votes will secure seats on council.


Two candidates are seeking the Sulphur Springs District seat on Hillsville Town Council. Barry L. Jessup has challenged incumbent William L. Tate Jr. Two incumbents are uncontested in seeking new terms — Mayor Greg Crowder and Laurel Fork District Council Member Greg Yonce.


Seeking re-election are Mayor E.F. “Butch” Reeves, who is unchallenged, and three incumbent Independence Town Council members — Tom Maxwell, Buddy Halsey and Jeffery Miller. Joining the incumbents in the race is one newcomer, Jessica L. Anders.


Seven town council slots are up for election in Fries, with seven candidates seeking office. Candidates include incumbents Nancy Hawks, Marie Isom, Bill Davis, Jo Ann Gunter, Dawn Patton and Cynthia Grant; and newcomer Frances Annette Boone.


William C. Mitchell Jr. has filed for re-election for mayor of Troutdale, and is unopposed.

Council member candidates include Samuel J. Pennington, Deborah Reedy Cornett, Scott Lee Cornett, Tina Michelle Delp, Ira Kenneth McGrady Jr., James David McGrady and Sean Ryan “Leprechaun” Baston.

See Friday’s edition of The Gazette for election results, or see galaxgazette.com on Tuesday evening.