Jones takes Pro Mini win at Wythe track

-A A +A
By Staff Reports

RURAL RETREAT –– Galax driver Dennis Jones led all 20 laps of the Pro Mini feature Saturday at Wythe Raceway as three local drivers posted top-five finishes at the half-mile clay oval.

Jones held off Travis Harden of Marion to take the win, with Doug Monday, Steele Scott and Billy Cline rounding out the top five.

Rural Retreat’s Kenny Peeples, Jr. led from start to finish to take the checkered flag in the FASTRAK Late Model feature. Galax’s Randy Harmon finished second, ahead of his son Derrick Harmon. Tommy Eastridge and Cody Cook were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Rural Retreat’s Mike Keith won his first race of the season in the Super Street division. Keith had to work his way through the field for the win, overtaking early leader Andy Patterson for fourth, then Michael Deskins and Randy Taylor before setting his sights on race leader Keith Griffitts. With two laps to go, Keith overtook Griffitts exiting turn 2 and held on for the win. Taylor, Deskins and Jerry Dillow comprised the top five.

Honaker driver Tyler Arrington was gunning for his seventh consecutive win in the Modified division. Arrington and Justin Blevins of Marion raced side-by-side for several laps before Blevins finally nudged into the lead and took his first win of the 2014 season with Arrington right behind, followed by Morgan Widener, R.K. Dix and Brandon Bentley.

In the UCAR race, James Graybeal, Danny Tate and Justin Farris battled each other for the entire 20 laps, with Graybeal taking the win over Tate and Farris. 

The UCAR-2 division for drivers ages 12-16 was won by Jake Phipps of Chilhowie, with Rural Retreat’s Justus Boyer in second. 

This week’s action at the track will feature Fan Appreciation Night. All the race cars will line up on the front straight, and fans can enter the track to meet the drivers. The meet-and-greet begins at 7 p.m., with racing action getting under way at 8. General admission is $10 and kids 10-under are admitted free.