Cavs earn postseason honors

-A A +A

 Carroll County’s Maleah Neely was named to the all-Region IV first team for volleyball while the Cavaliers had two first-team and eight second-team picks in all-Southwest District football balloting.

Neely, a senior outside hitter and the Southwest District player of the year, led the Cavaliers to a 22-1 record with team highs of 295 serving points, 231 kills, 359 assists, 42 aces and 226 digs, and was third on the team with 34 blocks.

Cave Spring and Hidden Valley placed two players each on the first team, including region player of the year Morgan Shannon of Cave Spring. Hidden Valley’s Carla Poff was voted the coach of the year.

Honesty Rogers, a senior libero, was a second-team pick after registering 226 kills and 199 serving points, including 26 aces, and senior middle hitter Lauren Roper was voted to the honorable mention list after totaling 168 kills, 78 blocks and 213 serving points.

In football voting, Richlands understandably dominated the voting with 14 total first-team selections, including eight on offense, plus the offensive and defense players of the year.

Carroll County, which finished 8-4 and notched just the second playoff win in school history, had two names on the first-team defense, Jacob Mollett and Jordan Lamb.

Mollett, a 5-foot-11, 220-pound junior nose guard, finished the year with 71 total tackles, including 46 solo hits and a team-high 27 tackles for loss, and led the Cavaliers with six sacks.

Lamb, a 5-9, 170-pound senior linebacker, was Carroll County’s second-leading tackler with 95 total, including 71 solo tackles. Lamb was second on the team with four sacks.

Mollett was also a second-team all-district runningback after accounting for 19 touchdowns. A fullback, Mollett led the Cavaliers with 745 yards on 88 attempts, averaging 8.4 yards per carry.

Joining Mollett on the second team offense were guard Nick Tobler, tight end Aaron Willard (7 rec., 128 yards) and kick returner Blake Bowman (20.5-yard average, 1 touchdown).

Named to the second-team defense were Willard at defensive end (63 tackles), Bowman at defensive back, linebacker Logan Hodges (118 total tackles) and defensive back Chris Smoot.

Earning honorable mention status were Graham Matthews, Trevor Bolen, Joe Anauo, Bowman, Ulises Moreno, Alex Horton, Ryne Ayers and Travis Kinney.


2010 all-Region IV volleyball team

First team

Morgan Shannon (jr., Cave Spring), Maleah Neely (sr., Carroll County), Kelsey Smith (sr., Tunstall), Kim McDow (sr., Hidden Valley), Sarah Patterson (jr., Hidden Valley), Shannon Craighead (jr., Cave Spring).


Player of the year

Morgan Shannon, Cave Spring

Coach of the year

Carla Poff, Hidden Valley


Second team

Taylor Leland (sr., Abingdon), Maggie Howell (jr., Blacksburg), Honesty Rogers (sr., Carroll County), Sarah Church (sr., Hidden Valley), Grace Darden (sr., Martinsville), Crystal Blankenship (jr., Cave Spring).


Honorable mention

Diandra Thompson (sr., Bassett), Kenzie Campbell (sr., Martinsville), Krista Smith (sr., Magna Vista), Hannah Helbert (soph., Patrick County), Logan Viers (soph., Abingdon), Lauren Roper (sr., Carroll County).


2010 all-Southwest District football team


First team offense

Center – Taylor Wade (6-2, 240, jr., Richlands); guard – Josh Hess (6-6, 295, jr., Richlands), Daniel Lowe (5-10, 200, sr., Grundy); tackle – Tanner Marshall (6-2, 295, sr., Grundy), Joseph Guerriero (6-2, 240, sr., Richlands); tight end – Cody Thomas (6-3, 180, sr., Richlands); wideout – Bradley Strong (5-8, 160, sr., Richlands), Caleb Widner (6-0, 185, jr., Abingdon); runningback – Devon Johnson (6-2, 210, jr., Richlands), Tyler Berglowe (5-10, 148, jr., Grundy), Mikal Moore (5-10, 180, jr., Tazewell); quarterback – Jake Hess (6-1, 190, sr., Abingdon); kick returner – Bradley Strong (5-8, 160, sr., Richlands); placekicker – Reece Strong (5-8, 165, jr., Richlands).


First team defense

End – Will Lowe (6-3, 250, sr., Richlands), Cody Justus (6-1, 198, sr., Grundy); line – Jacob Mollett (5-11, 220, jr., Carroll County), Hunter Brown (6-2, 260, jr., Richlands), Shaquille McDonald (6-0, 330, jr., Tazewell); linebacker – Cody Thomas (6-3, 180, sr., Richlands), Jordan Lamb (5-9, 170, sr., Carroll County), Princeton Graham (6-0, 220, sr., Marion), Ben Coleman (6-2, 195, sr., Abingdon); back – Bradley Strong (5-8, 160, sr., Richlands), Jack Vance (6-1, 180, sr., Richlands), Sean Overton (6-0, 185, sr., Richlands), Caleb Widner (6-0, 185, jr., Abingdon); punter – Mitchell Ludwig (5-9, 155, soph., Abingdon).


Offensive player of the year

Bradley Strong, Richlands

Defensive player of the year

Will Lowe, Richlands


Second team offense

Center – Shaine Fannon (sr., Abingdon); guard – Nick Tobler (sr., Carroll County), Matt Boyda (jr., Abingdon); tackle – Todd Smith (sr., Richlands), Andrew Jackson (sr., Abingdon); tight end – Aaron Willard (sr., Carroll County); wideout – Sean Overton (sr., Richlands), Euneke Diaz (jr., Graham); runningback – Aderrius Jackson (jr., Graham), Jacob Mollett (jr., Carroll County), Zac Crosswhite (sr., Abingdon); quarterback – Cody Lockhart (sr., Richlands); kick returner – Blake Bowman (sr., Carroll County); placekicker – Andrew Murray (jr., Tazewell).


Second team defense

End – Aaron Willard (sr., Carroll County), Nick Wolfe (sr., Richlands); line – Chandler Blankenship (sr., Richlands), Tyler Justus (sr., Grundy), Jacob Wolford (sr., Marion); linebacker – Logan Hodges (jr., Carroll County), Aderrius Jackson (jr., Graham), Eric Hodge (sr., Grundy), Kevin Canter (sr., Abingdon); back – Albert Fajardo (sr., Richlands), Blake Bowman (sr., Carroll County), Chris Smoot (soph., Carroll County), Tyler McClanahan (jr., Grundy); punter – Wayne Mutter (soph., Grundy).


Honorable mention

Abingdon– Tanner Jones, Logan Elswick, Isaiah Pope, Graham Gardner, Dakota Fields, Chris Dawson, Trevis Lightfoot, Alexander Nadler.

Carroll County– Graham Matthews, Trevor Bolen, Joe Anauo, Blake Bowman, Ulises Moreno, Alex Horton, Ryne Ayers, Travis Kinney.

Graham– Spencer Sheets, Samuel Stowers, Aaron Davidson, Cody Hatfield, Robert Compton, Michael Atwell, Gabe Hurt, Jacob Evans, Seth Gearhart, Alex Harclerode, Bradshaw, Jake Tibbs, Keith Dunn, Euneke Diaz.

Grundy– Ben Rife, Keegan Bartley, Cory Church, John Kelly, Dillon O’Quinn, Cody Rife, Tommy Barnett, Ryan Stiltner.

Marion– Christian Lishen, Jeremy Stamper, Matthew Widner, Matthew Briscoe, Isaac Glass, Spencer Smith, Shaun Brown, Marshall Wagner, Ethan Richardson.

Richlands– Zack Frazier, Tanner Smith, Aaron Daugherty, Skyler Bunker, Jeremy McGlothlin, Austin Johnson, Brandon Call, Mason Taylor, Colton Staten.

Tazewell– Guy Turner, Kyle Sheets, Oakley Lowe, Andrew Murray, Mikal Moore, Deon Davis, Chris Chambers, Chase Taylor, Brad Bowles, Brad Rhudy, Jalen Jordan, Cody McCann.