.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Hotline

  • Readers' Hotline 7/9/12

    In appreciation

  • Readers' Hotline 7/4/12

    City’s beauty

  • Readers' Hotline 7/2/12

    First things first
    I’m calling concerning the headline about the localities opposing natural gas company’s plans. We sure don’t need the people of Grayson County operating their own gas pipeline. County officials pretty much can’t operate anything. We built a brand new school we didn’t even need and built it without a playground. Operating a gas pipeline is for people that have common sense. A gas pipeline is serious business. They need to learn how to run the county business before they try to start operating a gas pipeline.

  • Readers' Hotline 6/27/12

    Pool benefits

  • Readers' Hotline 6/25/12

    Nice digs in Fries
    Congratulations to the Fries Fire Department for getting into your new firehouse. Just to let you guys know, it looks great, especially at night when you come around and everything is lit up and see all the nice equipment that you have. Job well done.

    Heat distress

  • Readers' Hotline 6/20/12

    Why were trees cut?
    Why did they cut down the beautiful Bradford Pear trees in front of the library in Hillsville? If you could find that answer out it would be good, because they were beautiful.
    Editor’s note: The pear trees were cut as part of the library renovation. They were getting too large and huge limbs were falling off, something that happens to older Bradford Pear trees. They were replaced with a kind of plum tree.

    Days of slavery

  • Readers' Hotline 6/18/12

    Reading is fundamental
    It’s good to know we still have teachers like the two from Laurel Elementary School. The children need them now more than ever. Many children are not encouraged to read and too many children are busy playing games or watching mindless TV. Please, encourage your children to read.

    Witness to dilemma

  • Readers' Hotline 6/13/12

    Public apology
    This is the owner of [a restaurant] in Galax. I had a situation with a customer who was totally right. I am calling to apologize and say I am sorry. He was a good and loyal customer. I understand if he does not choose to come back. I would love him and his family to come back and I am very sorry and I wish him and his family the best.

    Chicago politics

  • Readers' Hotline 6/11/12

    On deaf ears
    Talking about nobody speaking up at meetings and stuff about taxes — we have spoken and talked until we were blue in the face for years. It doesn’t do a bit of good. I guess people have about given up trying.

    Flat out broke

  • Readers' Hotline 6/6/12

    Best ever
    To the caller complaining about the embankments in Fries, have the county hire the lawn person doing Fries School. It looks the best ever.

    Read it for yourself