.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Hotline

  • Readers' Hotline 7/18/12

    It’s your responsibility
    I’m calling in regard to “hire a lawyer.” Yes, you do have to pay your back child support whether you get custody of your kids or not. It is your responsibility. It is what you already owed before you had custody of the kids. So, yes, you do still have to pay your back child support.

    Bad math

  • Readers' Hotline 7/16/12

    Many thanks
    I have a Good Samaritan story. My husband and I were traveling Saturday June 30 — a very hot day — from Martinsville to Fries. Our car broke down in Hillsville at the intersection of 58 and I-77. We were assisted all afternoon by Randy Wilson, Donald Wilson and Ricky Wilson. They repaired our car, got us on the road. We can’t thank them enough for helping us out. When they stopped to help, they didn’t know we were friends. They just made a goodwill gesture. We live in Spencer, Va.

  • Readers' Hotline 7/11/12

  • Readers' Hotline 7/9/12

    In appreciation

  • Readers' Hotline 7/4/12

    City’s beauty

  • Readers' Hotline 7/2/12

    First things first
    I’m calling concerning the headline about the localities opposing natural gas company’s plans. We sure don’t need the people of Grayson County operating their own gas pipeline. County officials pretty much can’t operate anything. We built a brand new school we didn’t even need and built it without a playground. Operating a gas pipeline is for people that have common sense. A gas pipeline is serious business. They need to learn how to run the county business before they try to start operating a gas pipeline.

  • Readers' Hotline 6/27/12

    Pool benefits

  • Readers' Hotline 6/25/12

    Nice digs in Fries
    Congratulations to the Fries Fire Department for getting into your new firehouse. Just to let you guys know, it looks great, especially at night when you come around and everything is lit up and see all the nice equipment that you have. Job well done.

    Heat distress

  • Readers' Hotline 6/20/12

    Why were trees cut?
    Why did they cut down the beautiful Bradford Pear trees in front of the library in Hillsville? If you could find that answer out it would be good, because they were beautiful.
    Editor’s note: The pear trees were cut as part of the library renovation. They were getting too large and huge limbs were falling off, something that happens to older Bradford Pear trees. They were replaced with a kind of plum tree.

    Days of slavery

  • Readers' Hotline 6/18/12

    Reading is fundamental
    It’s good to know we still have teachers like the two from Laurel Elementary School. The children need them now more than ever. Many children are not encouraged to read and too many children are busy playing games or watching mindless TV. Please, encourage your children to read.

    Witness to dilemma