• Readers Hotline 10/14/15

    Playing with our money?

  • Readers Hotline 10/12/15

    Calls regarding candidates for the upcoming Nov. 3 election are not allowed in the Hotline. If you wish to express an opinion about a candidate, please write a letter. The deadline for political letters is Oct. 21. For more information, see the box at the bottom of this page.

    Re-read history

  • Readers Hotline 10/7/15

    Monument work
    When are they are going to resume work on the veterans’ memorial next to the Galax library? There has been no one working on it all summer.

  • Readers Hotline 10/5/15

    Local cardiac care
    After reading about the $4 million renovation to the Twin County Community Hospital, I was wondering if it will ever be possible for them to upgrade to a heart treatment wing at the hospital so that people who have heart attacks and heart surgery don’t have to be sent to Winston.

  • Readers Hotline 9/30/15

    What’s wrong, ladies?
    I am so tired of that bunch of clowns trying to run for president and having debates and saying childish things. Everybody knows that George Bush caused this mess and why people are praying to get rid of Obama and blaming him for it, I don’t know. I’m white and I’m independent and I didn’t vote for Obama back then. I voted for Hillary. She would make a good president. We need a woman to straighten this mess out. What is wrong with you ladies believing these men. They think they are better than us.

  • Readers Hotline 9/28/15

    No gray area

  • Readers Hotline 9/21/15

    Pony Express
    Don’t give up. You will get your mail. My neighbor was in a local nursing home. This was in 2005 when I mailed her a card. On Aug. 19, 2015, 10 years later, I got the card unopened in my mailbox marked “return to sender.” It had been to Greensboro. It was postmarked there Aug. 19, 2015.

    Salute to service

  • Readers Hotline 9/16/15

    Go home

  • Readers Hotline 9/14/15

    Daytime chimes
    Regarding the call about chimes from the church keeping them awake at night — I live right across from the church that does that. I work. I don’t ever hear chimes after dark. They should get their facts straight. The only times I ever hear chimes are at 5 or 6 o’clock that evening. Never at dark and never at midnight, because I am up sometimes at midnight.

    Race not a factor

  • Readers Hotline 9/9/15

    Airing it out
    I love the Readers’ Hotline. It gives people in our area a chance to voice their opinion and to hear other people’s opinions where we otherwise don’t have a chance. I would like to ask that another few seconds be added on to our time limit for calls. Ninety seconds is not quite enough sometimes.

    He asked for it