Tide stays atop MED wrestling

-A A +A

Galax won seven individual titles to Grayson County’s four in the MED tournament.

By Craig Worrell, Sports Editor

A district wrestling tournament can be an ultra-competitive, multi-day grapple-palooza or it can be a cozy affair consuming less time than many dual matches.


The end result is the same, though; district champions are crowned.

Galax won seven weight classes and Grayson County picked up four individual titles at the Mountain Empire District tournament Thursday at Galax Middle School.

The entire event, including semifinals, took less than 90 minutes and consisted of fewer matches (12) than a fully-manned dual match (14), with four weight classes decided by either forfeit or double forfeit.

Galax maintained its stronghold on the MED’s top spot by winning the team championship 155-128 over Grayson County. Fort Chiswell was third with 80 points. All wrestlers advance to this weekend’s Region C tournament, set for Friday and Saturday at Radford High School.

Of the 12 bouts contested, only two went the full six minutes. Grayson County’s Seth Wright  topped Fort’s Hunter Moore 6-0 in the 215 semis, and the evening concluded with Galax’s Chaz Sizemore taking a major decision over Wright in the 215 finals.

Galax also got individual championships from Junior Espinosa (112), Eli Brady (119), Tyler Mathews (130), Dante Ravenell (135), Zack Testerman (160) and Frankie Shalabi (171). Ravenell and Brady’s titles came via forfeits, the other five by either first- or second-period pin.

Logan Watson began a string of three straight wins by Grayson County wrestlers when he won the 140-pound class by pin. Corey Anderson (145) and Josh Brannock (152) also recorded pins in their title bouts, as did Blue Devil 189-pounder Stephen Ross.

Fort Chiswell earned championships from Damon Meredith (125) and Justus Houston (285).


Mountain Empire District wrestling tournament

Team results

1. Galax (G) 155; 2. Grayson County (GC) 128; 3. Fort Chiswell (FC) 80.


Championship finals

103 – no entries; 112 – Junior Espinosa (G) p. Kyle Goard (FC) 3:15; 119 – Eli Brady (G) won by forfeit; 125 – Damon Meredith (FC) def. Clay Anders (GC) by forfeit; 130 – Tyler Mathews (G) p. Worth Carico (GC) 1:41; 135 – Dante Ravenell (G) won by forfeit; 140 – Logan Watson (GC) p. Kris Robinson (G) 1:35; 145 – Corey Anderson (GC) p. Nathan Beaty (G) 1:04; 152 – Josh Brannock (GC) p. Chris Gladding (FC) 0:16; 160 – Zack Testerman (G) p. Tanner Gravley (GC) 3:12; 171 – Frankie Shalabi (G) p. Derek Weatherman (GC) 1:04; 189 – Stephen Ross (GC) p. Woody Dixon (G) 0:54; 215 – Chaz Sizemore (G) maj. dec. Hunter Moore (GC) 17-5; 285 – Justus Houston (FC) p. Daniel Sanchez (GC) 3:19.



171 – Derek Weatherman (GC) p. Cody Gravley (FC) 1:42; 215 –  Hunter Moore (GC) dec. Seth Wright (FC) 6-0.