.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

State changes crash reporting policy

-A A +A

RICHMOND — Citing tens of thousands of requests from parties involved in vehicle crashes, attorneys and insurance companies, the Virginia State Police announced July 2 it has turned over releasing all accident reports to the state Department of Motor Vehicles, according to a news release.
A change made by the General Assembly has led to the DMV becoming the “sole source for distribution of FR300P accident reports completed by state law enforcement agencies in Virginia” through the DMV website, according to Corinne Geller, spokeswoman for the state police.
The Code of Virginia 46.2-380 allowed access to these accident reports to certain parties, including affected drivers and their representatives.
“In the past, those parties/individuals could go to DMV or the investigating law enforcement agency to request a copy of the completed FR300 Accident Report,” according to the news release.
It now falls to the DMV to maintain the vehicle crash records. From these, the state compiles data for annual reports of accidents, injuries and fatalities each year.
DMV keeps the law enforcement accident reports for a minimum of 36 months from the crash date.
“Police crash reports are available 30 days after the crash date,” the news release said. “The fee is $8 per crash report requested.”
Citizens can submit a request through the DMV’s website at www.dmv.virginia.gov/general/#records/accident.html.