New format, familiar result for Tide

-A A +A

Galax wound up in its customary top spot in the inaugural Conference 46 golf tournament.

By Craig Worrell, Sports Editor

DRAPER –– The more things change, the more they stay the same.


Whether it was an old-fashioned district or now a newfangled conference, playing against familiar teams or not, the Galax golf team, as has been the case so many times over the years, came out on top in the first stage of postseason play. Thursday, the Maroon Tide held off George Wythe by three strokes to win the inaugural Conference 46 tournament championship at familiar Draper Valley Golf Club.

Galax and George Wythe will both advance their entire teams to the 1A West Region championships next Monday, also to be held at Draper Valley. Making the cut as individuals were Ben VanDyne and Jacob Odum of Fort Chiswell, Aaron Dunford and Alex Corvin of Chilhowie, Skylar Williams of Patrick Henry-Glade Spring and Rural Retreat’s Peyton Brewer.

The course proved to be up to the task of providing a challenging tournament venue as 15 of the 36 individual scores were in triple figures. John Deters of George Wythe claimed the individual championship with a 78, edging Galax sophomore Nick Sage by one stroke. The Maroon Tide’s Dominic DiGiacomo was three strokes behind Sage in third place. Jacob Patton had a 91 for Galax and Aaron Osborne rounded out the Maroon Tide top four with his 93.

Galax and George Wythe were the class of the field with a 345 and 348, respectively. Chilhowie placed third in the team standings at 361 and Fort Chiswell finished fourth with a 369. Rural Retreat was fifth at 390 and Patrick Henry finished sixth with a 418.


Jacob Vaughan and Cole Davis of Grayson County both earned a spot in next week’s region tournament while Graham obliterated the rest of the field for the team title in the inaugural Conference 39 tournament Thursday at Fincastle Country Club.

Vaughan shot 81 and Davis turned in a 96 to qualify for the 2A West Region championships, to be played Thursday at Fincastle C.C.  The Blue Devils finished fourth in the team standings with a four-person total of 375. Laken Vaught turned in a 98 and Alex Benish had a 101 for Grayson.

Led by individual runner-up Ben Ramsey’s 76, Graham shot a team total of 323, a whopping 43 strokes under runner-up Tazewell’s 366. The G-Men and the Bulldogs will advance as teams to the regionals, along with the top six individuals from non-qualifying teams.

Marion placed third in the team standings with 370, followed by Grayson County, Richlands (382) and Grundy (643).

Richlands’ Zach Luttrell took a six-shot win over Ramsey for the individual championship.


Jefferson Forest edged E.C. Glass by two strokes to take the team championship at the Conference 24 tournament held Wednesday at Draper Valley. 

The Cavaliers shot a composite 299 to hold off the Hilltoppers’ 301. Both teams qualify for the 4A North Region tournament next week.

Bassett was third overall at 323, followed by Salem (328), Pulaski County (335), Carroll County (360) and William Fleming (447).

Jefferson Forest’s Brian Touna took medalist honors with an even-par 72, holding off three competitors by one stroke.

Carroll County’s Dane Shinault was one stroke shy of advancing to regionals as an individual, shooting 85. Jacob Dalton and Alex Sharp both shot 89 for the Cavaliers and Bryce Kirkland shot a 97.



Conference 46 tournament

Thursday at Draper Valley G.C.



Team results

x 1. Galax (345) –– Nick Sage 79, Dominic DiGiacomo 82, Jacob Patton 91, Aaron Osborne 93, Holden Delp 112, Kylie Hill 115.

x 2. George Wythe (348) –– Jon Deters 78, Alex Arnold 88, Maxwell Dillon 89, Marcus Fowler 93, Edward Morgan 93, Cody Abate 97.

3. Chilhowie (361) –– y-Alex Corvin 87, y-Aaron Dunford 90, Matthew Foster 92, Dalton Bennett 92, Dakota Carrico 106, Billy Ashby 110.

4. Fort Chiswell (369) –– y-Ben VanDyne 87, y-Jacob Odum 91, Matthew White 93, Jacob Primm 98, Josh Quesenberry 106, Tiffany Hudson 120.

5. Rural Retreat (390) –– y-Peyton Brewer 91, Dallas Shumate 94, Zack Sprouse 100, Josh Penuel 105, Blake Holmes 112, Garrett Wright 125.

6. Patrick Henry (418) –– y-Skylar Williams 89, Jordan Dennison 102, Bradley Charles 113, Zack DeBusk 114, Nicholas Osborne 131, Dylan Coe 143.

x – Qualify as teams for 1A West Region tournament

y – Qualify as individuals for 1A West Region tournament


Conference 39 tournament

Thursday at Fincastle C.C.



Team results

x 1. Graham (323) –– Ben Ramsey 76, Zach Toohey 78, William McGuire 81, Travis Simms 87, Jacob Britton 88, Austin Boyce 89.

x 2. Tazewell (366) –– Colin Hancock 78, Lucas Robinson 93, Tanner Catron 97, Luke Kennedy 98, Brett Jones 104, Caden Waddell 106.

3. Marion (370) –– y-Taylor Trail 80, y-Austin Blevins 81, Jimmy Marlock 104, Hunter Reedy 105, Chris Boothe 105, Hayley Keith 106.

4. Grayson County (375) –– y-Jacob Vaughan 81, y-Cole Davis 96, Laken Vaught 98, Alex Benish 101, Micah Cornett 110, Danny DeBord 111.

5. Richlands (382) –– y-Zach Luttrell 70, y-Dylan Sawyers 81, Peydon Simmons 103, Cameron Cole 128, Luke Crabtree 137, Joey McCall 142.

6. Grundy (643) –– Austin Blankenship 128, Michael Yates 136, Bailey Anderson 185, Cole Stiltner 194.

x – Qualify as teams for 2A West Region tournament

y – Qualify as individuals for 2A West Region tournament


Conference 24 tournament

Wednesday at Draper Valley G.C.



Team results

x 1. Jefferson Forest (299) –– Brian Touna 72, Zeke Shen 73, Matthew Stanley 76, Landon Moore 78 Griffin Hughes 78, Bradley Huddleston 91.

x 2. E.C. Glass (301) –– Connor Burgess 74, Jimmie Massie 74, Prescott Terrell 74, Gray Wiley 79, Trey Moon 80, Branson Terrell 80.

3. Bassett (323) –– y-Coty Hearn 73, y-Austin Wright 79, y-Bryce Varner 84, Ria Farley 87, Jacob Sowers 96.

4. Salem (328) –– y-Cole Massey 73, y-Elliott Gardner 80, Hinter Sampson 86, Joe Thomas 89, Trevor Rakes 92, Jake Preston 101.

5. Pulaski County (335) –– y-Gavin Hanks 77, Matt Martin 83, Chris Taylor 87, Adam Lawson 88, Bradley Dickerson 101, Bradley Myers 102.

6. Carroll County (360) –– Dane Shinault 85, JAcob Dalton 89, Alex Sharp 89, Bryce Kirkland 97, Rustin Nelson 102, Matt Early 115.

7. William Fleming (447) –– Chris Dowe 101, Michael Lewis 111, Oscar Otanez 115, Junior Garner 120.

x – Qualify as teams for 4A North Region tournament

y – Qualify as individuals for 4A North Region tournament