Independence drivers win at Elk Creek

-A A +A


By Landmark News Service

ELK CREEK – Elk Creek Dragway has been a busy place the last two weekends.

In May 22 racing, Independence drivers won three of the five classes.

In Pro-Line Performance Super Pro, Gary Boyer of Independence took the title driving a big block Chevy at a speed of 117.82 mph. Alan Bales of Atkins, Va., was runner-up in a Chevy S-10 pickup truck.

Jamie Holston of Rural Retreat claimed the Footbrake class with a speed of 83.38 mph driving a small block Chevy. Tom Baker of Princeton, W.Va., was runner-up in a 1979 Chevy Nova.

Kevin Halsey of Independence won the DOT class in a Mercury Cougar with a speed a 63.34 mph to beat Roger Wiggins of Galax, driving a 1988 Mustang GT, who turned 74.21 mph. Bo Sells of Sparta, N.C., was a semifinalist in a 1999 Chevy Cavalier.

D.J. Moore of Princeton, W.Va., won the Virginia Laser Corp. Junior Dragster class with a speed of 75.82 mph to edge Dylan Branscome with a speed of 74.38 mph. Brieanne Hash and Corey Pack, both of Independence, were semifinalists.

Tyler Parsons of Independence won the Motorcycle class with a speed of 95.62 mph to beat runner-up Martin Richardson of West Jefferson, N.C., with a speed of 103.44 mph on a 1982 Suzuki 1100. 

In May 28 results, Jim “Bo” Sells of Troutdale won the -Pro-Line Performance Super Pro class in a 1972 Plymouth Duster to beat Bill Lewis of Hillsville in a dragster.

Neal Church of Boone, N.C., won Footbrake in a 1985 Mustang while Trovy Corvin of Hillsville, was runner-up in a Chevy Nova.

Another Boone driver, Jerry Trivette, won the DOT class in a 1966 Ford Ranchero to beat runner-up Matt Crigger of Speedwell, driving a 1984 Chevy S-10.

Corey Pack of Independence found the winner’s circle in the -Virginia Laser Corp. Junior Dragster class to beat D.J. Moore of Princeton, W.Va.

Another Independence driver, Wes Parsons, won the Motorcycle class riding a 1986 GSXR 1100 to beat Justin Funk of Fries.

Terry Davis of Wytheville won the 5.70 Heads-Up Street Outlaw class in a 1966 Chevy Chevelle SS to beat runner-up Randall Hopkins of Hiwassee.

Robert Lineberry of Woodlawn, won the 6.70 Heads-Up Street Eliminator in a 1969 Camaro.

In May 30 action, Tim Turbyfill won the Super-Pro-Pro-Line Performance class in a dragster to beat runner-up Trevor Denton of Bristol.

Steven Lyons of Max Meadows won the Footbrake class in a 1972 Plymouth Duster to beat runner-up Ronnie Brannock of Galax in a 1967 Chevrolet Impala.

Crigger won the DOT class in his 1984 Chevy S-10 to beat Wiggins.

Chase Hensdell of Independence won the Virginia Laser Corp. Junior Dragster class and Jason Halsey of Independence was runner-up.

Tyler Parsons won the Motorcycle class and Wes Parsons was runner-up.