Grayson School Board appoints new chairman

-A A +A
By Landmark News Service

INDEPENDENCE — The Grayson County School Board has a new chairman following a meeting Jan. 20.
The board elected Hobert Bailey chairman and Shannon Holdaway vice chairman. Bailey was nominated by former chairwoman Misty Cassell.
“Thank you,” said Bailey. “I appreciate your confidence, and I’ll do my best.”
Member Gary Burris nominated Holdaway for vice chairman. Holdaway also served as vice chairman in 2010.
The school board also reappointed Mary Paisley as clerk of the board, Robin Hackler and Sherri Corvin as finance deputy clerks and Michelle Bane as federal records clerk/secretary.
The school board will continue to hold meetings at 6 p.m. the second Monday of each month in the Grayson County Courthouse boardroom in Independence. Special meetings, workshops or changes to regular meeting dates or times will be announced as needed.
Dates for monthly meetings are: Feb. 14, March 14, April 11, May 9, June 13, July 11, Aug. 8, Sept. 11, Oct. 10, Nov. 14 and Dec. 12.