Carroll PSA names new chairman

-A A +A

Dickson to replace Littrell as head of PSA; Hutchins continues as chairman of county board

By Christopher Brooke, Reporter

HILLSVILLE — The Carroll Public Service Authority welcomed a new chairman for the new year Monday, while the board of supervisors chose to continue with the same chairman as in 2013.
In two short organizational meetings, the supervisors went first and expressed their satisfaction with Chairman David Hutchins.
Supervisor Phil McCraw quickly nominated Hutchins to return to the chair.
“He did a good job last year,” McCraw explained. “He is very involved in [the Virginia Association of Counties] and has become first vice president. I think that bodes well for Carroll County.”
Five supervisors voted “yes,” with Hutchins abstaining.
Supervisor Tom Littrell then nominated McCraw for vice chairman, with five supervisors voting “yes” on the motion and McCraw abstaining.
The supervisors voted to continue to meet on the second Monday of the month, with open session starting at 5 p.m.
At the urging of County Attorney Jim Cornwell, the supervisors also approved a back-up date in case a meeting has to be postponed. That date would be the third Monday of the month.
At the Public Service Authority meeting, member Tom Littrell, the past chairman, nominated Sam Dickson as chairman.
Hutchins followed that by nominating Jeanette Dalton for vice chair.
Both motions were approved by five authority members, with the nominated members abstaining.
The authority kept its meeting times the same.