Candidates file for May elections

-A A +A

There will be at least one contested race in elections for Hillsville Town Council and Galax City Council in May, but there are just enough candidates to fill spots on Independence and Fries town councils.

The deadline for candidates to submit the required amount of petitions signed by registered voters was March 2 at 7 p.m.

Municipal elections will be held May 4.

Carroll County

Hillsville Town Council will boast one contested race in municipal elections this May in the Sulphur Springs ward.

Billy Walls Sr. will challenge Frieda Jessup for the town council seat, according to information about qualified candidates from the Carroll County Voter Registrar's Office.

Jessup holds the position on council after being appointed to fill the vacancy left by the ward's former representative, Bill Tate, who was elected to the post of Hillsville mayor in 2008.

Tate will seek re-election to the two-year term of mayor this May. He is unopposed.

The mayoral election is the only ballot open to all town voters.

In the Laurel Fork ward, incumbent Greg Yonce will seek re-election.

He, too, is unopposed.

The last day citizens can register to vote is April 13 for the town election, according to the registrar's office.


Residents of the City of Galax will choose between five candidates for four open positions, according to Voter Registrar Stacey Reavis.

Incumbents C.M. Mitchell, Willie Greene, Derrick Davis and John Garner are all seeking reelection, while newcomer Margaret L. “Margo” Crouse seeks a position on council.

Candidates run at-large, meaning the four candidates receiving the most votes will be placed on council.

Council later appoints its mayor and vice mayor.

Grayson County

There will be no contested races in this year's municipal elections in Grayson County this year.

Independence residents will elect a mayor and three council members in May. According to Grayson Registrar Debbie Phipps, only one candidate filed for mayor — incumbent E.F. "Butch" Reeves — and three filed for council seats — incumbent Tom E. Maxwell, former council member Cecil Adams and W.S. "Buddy" Halsey.

Incumbents Evelyn Hughes and R.C. Cox did not file to run.

In Fries, eight candidates registered for seven open seats. However, one is likely to withdraw her application.

Former Mayor Marie Isom resigned from council at its meeting last Tuesday night, citing a possible conflict of interest involving an upcoming grant application.

Isom was one of eight candidates registered, including all incumbents and newly appointed council member Kathryn James.

Others incumbents seeking re-election in Fries include Kenneth R. Brooms, William A. "Bill" Davis, Frankie Fortner, Nancy P. Hawks, Carolyn J. Jones and Gary L. Sumner. Following the election, Fries town council appoints the mayor.

In Troutdale, Phipps said nobody registered to run for mayor, recorder or council seats, but noted that those seeking office in the small town typically run as write-in candidates.