Bell off to hot start at Motor Mile

-A A +A

Brent Bell is 2-0 at Motor Mile Speedway


RADFORD -- Brent Bell of Galax got off to a great start defending his track championship, winning the first two Street Stock events of the 2010 season at Motor Mile Speedway. Bell won the Cintas 150 Saturday at Motor Mile, qualifying on the pole and holding off Barry Gregory for the win. Bell opened the season with a win on April 3. Starting from the outside pole, Bell took the lead on lap 22 and never looked back, again beating Gregory to the checkered flag. Bell, 28, has 16 wins since 2008, including eight in last year’s championship season. He is sponsored by Altizer and Altizer attorneys at law, Bell Tire and Automotive and Bell Realty of Galax. His No. 1 fan is his daughter, Jaelyn. ELK CREEK DRAGWAY A rivalry has existed for decades between the athletic teams from the towns of Sparta, N.C. and Independence. On April 10, the rivalry spilled over to the eighth-mile drag strip of Elk Creek Dragway as Linn Joines of Sparta met Independence’s Craig Hendsell in the ProLine Super Pro Eliminator class finals. After seven rounds of eliminations, Joines piloted his Chevy-powered dragster to a 4.79 e.t. at 130 mph to take the win over Hendsell and his Dodge, which posted a 5.87 e.t. at 112 mph. In the Motorcycle class, Dale Waller of Fries thundered to the event win with a 5.52 e.t. at 112 mph. Seth Marshall was the runner-up. The Junior Dragster class winner was Jeremy Felts of Speedwell. Felts recorded an 8.44 e.t. at 67 mph to top Brieanne Hash in the final. In the RC Towing Footbrake Eliminator class, Doug Smith of Mt. Airy and his Plymouth Duster took the win with a 6.41 e.t. at 94 mph. Dwayne Moore was the runner-up in a Ford Mustang that posted a 6.48 e.t. at 95 mph, In the D.O.T. class, Peabody Holdaway of Troutdale took the win in his Chevy Cavalier, posting a 10.50 e.t. at 59 mph. Todd Crigger and his Camaro finished in the runner-up spot. The showcase event for the weekend was the Outlaw Footbrake 32 class. Roscoe Trent took the class win in a Ford Thunderbird that roared to a 5.09 e.t. at more than 124 mph. Tom Baker was the runner-up in a Chevy Nova.